This is a question that I keep finding in the search queries that lead to my blog. Many Catholics worry that using animal fats like this might violate Lenten fasts, and for those hard core folks like my family, any Friday fast.The quick answer is yes. The more detailed answer is that it can be used as long as it is not gratuitously used as a condiment (i.e., spreading it on a piece of bread) in any manner that treats it like meat but if it is liquefied first (i.e., deep frying) it is prefectly licit. While I am not a theologian or a priest, I happen to know a trustworthy source. Fr. Z on his blog has addressed this, find it HERE. Bring it on!